TOPIC:

VHF/UHF Go Box Decisions 10 years 11 months ago #218

• WA1SFH
  • WA1SFH's Avatar Topic Author
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 12
Hi Everybody,
I am very excited about what John B. at Quicksilver Radio has done by putting the "Deluxe Grab 'n' Go Kit" together for sale, and I'd like to share some thoughts with you from my ARES DEC perspective.

Disclaimer:
I have been using my own Home-brew version of this kit for several years. It resides in a bright Orange insulated Lunch box - as seen at the 2012 Nutmeg Hamfest.

A Good Place To Start
This "kit" (as offered) can fulfill the LOCAL VHF/UHF communications needs of field stations during ARES Drills and Public Service Events working Simplex, or using local working Repeaters (aka: a "Blue Sky" event), with one frequency at a time receiving capability.
- It is great for "on the go" Amateur Radio Fun!

Taking off the Rose Colored Glasses
When considering this kit concept, we need ask the hard question,
"Will it meet the needs of our ARES mission... "When All Else Fails"?

An Epiphany
As a result of Hurricane Sandy, I realized a foundational (and sobering) truth.
"When All Else Fails", we are no longer in an "emergency".
We have hit "DISASTER".

Let that sink in to your brain for a few moments, and then consider the ramifications.... YIKES! :ohmy:

Plan For The Worst, and Hope For The Best
In ARES, we need to “plan for the worst and hope for the best”.
This means thinking, planning, and equipping ourselves for those "Black Sky" events when our world goes “dark” (no electricity) and repeaters go silent due to: lack of power, an antenna flying away, or the tower falling down.

When it comes to "Black Sky" ARES Events and Drills (i.e. no Repeater), we will be using:
- VHF/UHF FM SIMPLEX (Voice),
- VHF Data Communications (WINLINK Express),
- HF NVIS (Near Vertical Incidence Skywave) SSB communications (Voice) on 40m. and 75m.
- HF Data Communications (WINMOR).

Communication Requirements